Employment-Based Permanent Visas

There are five preference categories of permanent employment-based visas:

EB-1 Priority Workers:

Individuals with extraordinary ability in the sciences, arts, education, business or athletics.
Outstanding professors or researchers.
Managers and executives transferred to the U.S.

EB-2 Professionals with Advanced Degrees or Persons with Exceptional Ability:

Individuals with exceptional ability in the sciences, arts or business.
Professionals with advanced degrees.
Qualified Physicians intending to practice medicine in under served areas.

EB-3 Skilled or Professional Workers:

Professionals with bachelor’s or equivalent degrees.
Skilled workers with at least two years experience.
Unskilled workers.

EB-4 Special Immigrants:

Religious workers.
Employees and former employees of the U.S. Government abroad.

EB-5 Immigrant Investors:

Individuals who are in the process of investing or have invested $500,000 – $1,000,000 in a new business that employs a certain number of people.